With Volkswagen participating in so many forms of Motorsport around the world, it’s often difficult to keep track of their performance. Luckily for us, Volkswagen Motorsport goes through the trouble of rounding up all of the key information from their various race series, and puts it all in one press release. Let’s get started.

FIA World Rally Championship
Fourth win of the season for Sébastien Ogier, fifth for Volkswagen

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F) claimed their fourth win of the season at the Rally Italy to extend their lead in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC). The French duo won on Sardinia with a lead of over three minutes over Hyundai’s Hayden Paddon/John Kennard (NZ/NZ), and also emerged victorious on the closing Power Stage. Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (FIN/FIN) suffered a number of set-backs over the course of the rally, but fought back to finish sixth overall and second on the Power Stage. Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fløene (N/N), who had fallen well behind following early crashes, also managed to claim one point towards the world championship, finishing third on the Power Stage. Ogier now leads the World Championship with 133 points, followed by Mads Østberg (N/67) in his Citroën and Andreas Mikkelsen (64). The next round of the World Rally Championship will take place in Poland from 2 to 5 July.

Engen Volkswagen Cup South Africa

Three different winners at third round of the season

The Engen Volkswagen Cup South Africa once again put on an entertaining display of motorsport on its third race weekend in Port Elizabeth (ZA). Three races were held in one day on the newly-surfaced track, which made conditions extremely slippery. Mathew Hodges won the opening race of the weekend, narrowly defeating Matt Shorter (+ 0.418 seconds) and Juan Gerber (+0.574 seconds).Victory in race two went to Daniel Rowe, who crossed the finish line just 0.170 seconds ahead of Shaun La Reservee and Sheldon van der Linde. The final race was won by Chris Shorter, with van der Linde and Rowe in second and third. The next round of the Engen Volkswagen Cup South Africa will take place in East London (ZA) on 11 July.