VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5,511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been working for Volvo Cars for over six years now. After five years, I achieved my Master rating and as such, qualified for the Volvo VISTA (Volvo International Service Training Award) competition. So, back in February, & travelled to Vancouver for the semi-finals, & won one of ~8 spots in the finals for Canadian techs. I then went to Volvo North America's HQ in Rockleigh NJ to compete in the finals. Surprisingly, I won one of the TWO technician spots & won a seven day, all expenses paid trip to Volvo's home of Gothenburg Sweden. I just got back yesterday, & I figured there's plenty of car related stuff on my trip to post up a thread.

VISTA involved approx 200 service staff from all around the world.

Day 1 (Saturday June 23/Sunday 24)

Left Calgary at 3:30pm, transferred in Amsterdam, & arrived in Gothenburg at around noon on Sunday. This is my first time travelling this far & the jet lag nearly killed me.

Eastern Greenland

Sunset

& sunrise again, about five minutes after it set

Glimpse of Gothenburg through the clouds

V60 D5 AWD Ocean Race Edition

Hotel at night

VISTA desk in the Clarion Post Hotel

·
Registered
5,511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Day 2

Woke up at 2am.:facepalm: So I walked around the city to have a gander.

WTF

We bussed it to Volvo HQ in Torslanda for some presentations, including the reveal of the V40, and showed us the design process. We also learned about the V60 Plug-In Hybrid.

After lunch, we headed to the Volvo Museum. I'll try to stick to some of the more interesting stuff, but I have hundreds of photos from there. I'll try to label most of them, but if I don't & you want to know what it is, just ask.

King Gustaf's personal car

Armoured 960

P1900

P1800ES

Amazon

T6 Roadster Concept

740 BTCC car (iirc)

YYC Concept

245 :thumbup:

262 Bertone

850 T5R

480?

Odd old concepts, etc.