VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
427 Posts
Just bought an 07 Jetta 2.5 for my son. Changed out the front brakes and parking brake cables so it could pass state inspection. They were trashed. Added a radio and backup camera too.

Other than those things, the car was solid and interior nearly mint with no rust anywhere. Just a few dents and scrapes on the outside.
Wheel Car Tire Automotive parking light Vehicle

Wood Electrical wiring Gas Cable Circuit component

·
Registered
427 Posts
Oh, and just got an auto/Euro headlight switch in the mail today. Will route the sensor later. Mainly just wanted it for parking lights and ability to add front/rear fogs.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Isn't it amazing what you do for your kids? I've been maintaining all of my daughter's cars for over 20 years and still going strong. I think my body's warranty is about to expire, though.
Well, I had my B5.5 manual swapped wagon all ready to hand over, but I'd rather start him on an auto first and not my baby ;). Initial driving instruction resulted in a stripped inner CV (it was on it's way out). It's fun though. I was running out of things to fix in my fleet :LOL:.
Wheel Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light Tire Car

·
Registered
427 Posts
Changed the spark plugs with ZFR6T-11G and fixed the intake box at the grill. The two tabs on the sides were long broken off. Just drilled two holes on top and relocated the speed clips to those holes. Then, used two spare screws I had.
Automotive tire Hood Automotive lighting Car Grille

Hand Vertebrate Jewellery Electric blue Font

·
Registered
427 Posts
Those plug are nice. One shade cooler than the platinums. Should be able to pull more timing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It certainly started quicker. Can't tell any driving difference with the old butt dyno.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Vagguy, how many miles were on the plugs you removed?
No clue. Just bought the car in April.

·
Registered