VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had a set powdercoated once already, but the color turned out darker than I wanted. I don't want to make the same mistake twice, so if you have had good results with a method/color that resembles the factory platinum silver color of the Speedlines post a pic. Thanks
--Ben--
'93 SLC

·
Registered
673 Posts
Re: What paint method/powdercoat color best matches stock Speedline color? (DIABLO SLC)

An old thread - but I'm wondering about the same thing - so BUMP!

·
Registered
13,068 Posts
Re: What paint method/powdercoat color best matches stock Speedline color? (Mawrick)

paint and powder codes DO NOT CROSS OVER. i do powder coating for a living. if someone brings in a paint code to me its useless.
what you need to do is IF u decide to use powdercoating over paint, bring a sample or in this case the wheel to our powdercoater, have him get you a sample chip and make your own choice weather the powder chip matches and you PERSONALLY like it
i would never rely on someone elses judgement on a color between powder and paint. nor if a customer tell me "use your judgement" will i do that either
powdercoating is more expensive the paint (for a good job) so you have to personally make that decision
IMHO

·
Registered
2,924 Posts
i'm going to attempt to redo my speedlines with the dupli-color silver wheel paint this summer. i'll post results of course.

·
Registered
12,623 Posts
Re: (needaveedub)

I repainted a set of silver finished wheels that I sold two years ago using Duplicolor wheel paint. They had some curb rash and minor scratches that I repaired first. The silver paint was good but it was the rattle can clear that was a bit off. If I had it to do over again I would have shot the clear out of a gun. But overall they came out good.

·
Registered
13,068 Posts
Re: (dogger)

Quote, originally posted by dogger »