VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to decide whether or not to invest in a chip or a CAI. Money rolls in very slowly for me so i'll have to buy one and wait awhile until I can get the other. Overall though, i'm looking for a nice mod that will give me good hp gains and will most likely not void my warranty. I really welcome your opinions as I am new to the VW aftermarket scene and have no idea what the product reputations are.
So far, I have been interested in the Evo MS CAI because of its low price. I'm concerned tho because i've learned the hard way that you usually get what you pay for. Having said that, the $270 Neuspeed CAI is also a consideration. Can I really expect good gains from these intakes???
I know the chips deliver what they promise and the Neuspeed software looks good because it's only $200 and I can atleast get a 5 hp bump. I've looked into GIAC but can't find a price but even if they offer a few more horses than the Neuspeed, it's still going to have a much larger price tag.
Thanks for the help

·
Registered
368 Posts
Re: which is the better mod?? (ufgator)

Without a doubt, a chip will make a *HUGE* differencce. I can't get over how much a chip improved my car. After that if you have an extra $50, get a drop in K&N, ITG, or aFe.
http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif

·
Registered
4,316 Posts

I dont think either of those mods are gonna do to much for the car. I'd suggest maybe waiting for some better software to come out or put the money towards something else. I'd say just stick with the stock airbox for now, you could always toss in a K&N drop in.

·
Registered
3,106 Posts
Re: which is the better mod?? (mista dubba dubba)

I'm with Mista Dubba Dubba! Also the chip voids your warrentee!
______
Deep Blue Pearl .:R32

·
Registered
9,525 Posts

Chip, most bang for the buck, plus you can chip it back to normal on the APR chip (thus making it very hard to detect).