Driving Too Slow in the Left Lane is Now Illegal in Nevada

First offenses for driving too slow in the left left will cost $50.

The new law aims to keep slow drivers out of the passing lane, as the Nevada Highway Patrol believes the number-one driving issue that causes the most road rage is when people hog the left lane. “It’s law here that if you’re gonna be in that lane, you need to be going at least the speed limit,” said Trooper Jason Buratczuk. He notes that the law doesn’t give people the permission to speed, but rather do the speed limit if they’re traveling in the left lane.

The hope is to keep traffic flowing steadily and eliminating road range incidents, with second offenses costing $100 and third offenses costing $250. Nevada joins other states including Tennessee, Florida, New Jersey, Georgia, and Indiana in adding a “slow poke” law.

[Source: KTNV]

This post first appeared on AutoGuide